The Blackjack Hall Of Fame

The Blackjack Hall of Fame was created in 2002 in San Diego with the aim of honouring, outstanding blackjack players, researches and authors.

It was opened in the winter of 2002 when 21 professional, blackjack players and authors were nominated to become the first members of the Blackjack Hall of Fame through an Internet vote. In January 2003 the results of the voting were completed and the seven members were inducted into the Blackjack Ball private event

At the end of the first year two more members were elected to the Blackjack Hall of Fame at the Blackjack Ball voting. Since then voting is undertaken by the members of the Hall and according to their 2006 agreement only one person can be inducted each year. However, regardless of the rules in 2008 four members were elected to the Blackjack Hall of Fame.

The Blackjack Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Barona Casino in San Diego, Carolina and all its events including the voting are held in the casino premises. One of the most interesting facts of each event is that all the nominated blackjack stars are awarded with lifetime complimentary full room in exchange for agreeing that they will never play at the Barona Casino.


The current members of the Blackjack Hall of Fame are:

Al Francesco (member since 2002) - Blackjack player and the co-founder of the popular concept "blackjack teams".

Peter Griffin (2002) - the author of The Theory of Blackjack, one of the best guides about the blackjack game.

Arnold Snyder (2002) - the professional gambler, author of numerous books on blackjack and founder of the Blackjack Forum.

Edward O. Thorp (2002) - the author of the book Beat the Dealer, the most complete guide to the card counting system.

Ken Uston (2002) - the author of the "team play" concept, the inventor of successful blackjack systems, professional player.

Stanford Wong (2002) - the inventor of the "Wonging" blackjack technique.

Tommy Hyland (2002) - the manager of the long-running blackjack team.

Max Rubin (2004) - A reporter on gaming events and optimizer of casino competitions.

Keith Taft (2004) - the inventor of a hidden computerized gambling devices for blackjack.

Julian Braun (2005) - the author who was the first to use computers in analyzing blackjack statistics.

Lawrence Revere (2005) - the blackjack teacher and the author of the guide Playing Blackjack as Business.

James Grosjean (2006) - the professional blackjack player and the author of Classic Beyond Counting.

John Chang (2007) - Former manager of the MIT blackjack team famous for the most successful use of a card counting system.

Roger Baldwin, Wilbert Cantey, Herbert Maisel and James McDermott (2008), the team of enthusiasts, also known as the "The Four Horsemen of Aberdeen", who in the 50's while serving in the U.S. army managed to create the first accurate blackjack strategy using only desk calculators and published it in the American Statistical Association Journal.

15 May 2009 by
Back to articles

TOP 3 Canadian Casinos




brand C$ 0 Bonus

Payout rate:


Min. deposit:


  • 67
  • Аuthority license
  • Experienced support and guidance
  • Games from Microgaming



brand C$ 0 Bonus

Payout rate:


Min. deposit:


  • 11
  • BTC games
  • Player’s Choice Award 2017-2018
  • Excellent service
Genesis Casino


Genesis Casino

brand C$ 0 Bonus

Payout rate:


Min. deposit:


  • 58
  • Experienced operator
  • 3 licenses
  • Top-tier game developers